Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Local News

Candidates Announced for 2021 North Haven Elections

While Election Day may still be about three months away, the slate of candidates for Tuesday, Nov. 2 is taking shape and both incumbents and challengers are ready to campaign for a seat. The Democratic Town Committee (DTC) held its endorsement meeting on July 20 and the Republican Town Committee (RTC) held its nomination convention on July 21 with both parties announcing their nominations for this fall’s election.

In North Haven, registered voters will cast ballots for first selectman, Board of Selectman, as well as town clerk/tax collector. The incumbents are seeking reelection in each of the positions with Michael Freda (R) running for a sixth term as first selectman, Sally Buemi (D) and William Pieper (R) looking to return to the Board of Selectmen, and J. Stacey Yarbrough again running for town clerk/tax collector.

“We have a very strong and qualified ticket led by Mr. Freda, who’s been there more than 10 years,” said RTC Chairman Jim DiCarlo. “He’s relentless in trying to bring in economic development and working with all of the town departments, which is one of his most important characteristics. He has also made a strong commitment to public safety this year.”

Democrat Carl Kordek is challenging Freda for the first selectman seat, while fellow Democrat Kathy Grant is running against Yarbrough for the town clerk/tax collector position.

“The DTC is proud to endorse our slate of candidates for municipal office and we strive to find the most qualified candidates for boards and commissions that represent our democratic values who will put the needs of the whole community above all,” said Grant, the DTC chair. “What is unique about this group is their love for this town and the diverse perspectives they bring. In addition to our experienced incumbents, we have health care professionals on the ticket, IT professionals, attorneys, and business entrepreneurs. Each candidate will provide a professional approach to public service that is focused on improving the budgetary process, good governance, economic development, and meeting the needs of the community.”

In addition, votes will also be cast for seats on the Board of Assessment Appeals, Board of Education, Board of Finance, Fire Commission, Planning & Zoning Commission, Police Commission, and Zoning Board of Appeals. See the sidebar for the full list of nominated candidates.

At each of the nomination meetings, constables were also nominated to a two-year term, though they will not appear on the municipal ballot in November. Those nominated include Joseph Cappucci (D), Joseph D’Errico (R), Kathleen Fox (D), Scott Leamon (D), Mildred Stankiewicz (R), and Karl Veith (R).

The RTC will host a wine tasting fundraiser to meet the candidates on Aug. 25 at Wallingford Country Club. For information or to reach out to candidates with questions, call 203-239-2084.

“Our theme is we all have to work together for the good of the town—you have to work with all parties,” said DiCarlo. “We want to hear from everybody, not just our own personal views.”

For information on the RTC and Republican candidates, follow NorthHavenRTC on Facebook and Twitter, email, or call 203-239-2084.

The DTC recently held a candidate meet-and-greet. Its next meeting, which will be held via Zoom, is Tuesday, Aug. 10. For information and the meeting link, visit

“Our town has not reached the level of success it is capable of. North Haven continues to see businesses close and storefronts empty year after year,” said Grant. “The Democrats have a team of leaders ready to do the work to build community, provide quality oversight, protect citizens, stimulate growth, and sustain the integrity of our town through respectful dialogue especially during these challenging times.”

For information on the North Haven DTC and Democratic candidates, visit or NorthHavenDemocrats on Facebook or follow @NorthHavenDTC on Instagram and Twitter.

2021 North Haven Candidates

* denotes incumbent

First Selectman (two-year term)

• Michael Freda (R)*

• Carl Kordek (D)

Board of Selectmen (two-year term)

• Sally Buemi (D)*

• William Pieper (R)*

Board of Education (six-year term)

• Ronald Bathrick (R)

• Marie Devlin (D)

• Randi Petersen (R)*

• Frederick Rodriguez (D)

Board of Finance (four-year term)

• David Cohen (D)

• Michael Hallahan (D)*

• James Lianos (R)*

• Dyann Vissicchio (R)*

Board of Assessment Appeals (four-year term)

• Nupur Garg (D, partial term)*

• Norman Juniewic Sr. (D)*

• Ralph Ricciardelli (R)*

Constable (two-year term)

• Joseph Cappucci (D)

• Joseph D’Errico (R)*

• Kathleen Fox (D)

• Scott Leamon (D)

• Mildred Stankiewicz (R)*

• Karl Veith (R)*

Fire Commission (four-year term)

• Joseph Cappucci (D)*

• Vincenzo Gallo (R)

• Lori Mansur (D)

• Pasquale Nuzzolillo (R)*

Planning & Zoning (four-year term)

• Vern Carlson (R)*

• Mark Parisi (R, alternate)

• Theresa Ranciato Viele (D)*

• Paul Weymann (R, alternate)

• Roderick Williams (D, alternate)*

Police Commission (four-year term)

• Robert Hannon (R)*

• Lawrence Lazaroff (R)*

• Jonathan Lewin (D)

• Alden Mead (D)*

Town Treasurer

Donald Clark (R)

Town Clerk/Tax Collector (two-year term)

• Kathy Grant (D)

• J. Stacey Yarbrough (R)*

Zoning Board of Appeals (four-year term)

• Luigi Coppola (R, alternate)

• Stephen Gifford (D, alternate)

• Andrew Gorry (R)

• Robert Nielsen (R, alternate)

• Kenneth Quick (D)

• Joseph Villano (D)*

• Carolyn Yaccarino (R)

Jenn McCulloch is the Correspondent for Zip06. Email Jenn at .

Reader Comments